Now Remains The Dawn

Posted: 12/02/2016 in My Psalms
Tags: , , , ,

I am deeply honored and privileged to be available and trusted by colleagues seeking guidance, counsel, and encouragement. Though my years in institutional church ministry are behind me, by God’s grace, His work continues in and through me in the work force; as it should be.  The plight of one colleague and friend (you know who you are) was the inspiration of the following poem. I am thankful these words were received as timely and healing. I am equally hopeful that they will have similar impact for someone out there. As long as we are living, we are all “work in progress.” 

~ Peace and blessings…

joe

____________________________________________________________________

Now Remains The Dawn

Uncertainty assaults my peace…as I gasp for wisps of breath;

Crushed beneath oppressive weight…of questions and regret.

What ifs and second guessing…are my constant aggravation;

As nights are seized by sleeplessness…and soul interrogation.

I knew that life would not be easy…but I never fathomed this;

Though silver linings do avail…the darkened clouds persist.

Discouragement obscures the light…of youthful inclination;

While anxiety casts its long, cold, shadow…on hope’s anticipation.

I’ve dwelt too long in a mournful place…my dreams could not conceive;

But still convinced that threads of hope…will mend reality.

I’m clinging to the silver lining…that pines for my attention;

The catalyst that fuels my fight…to conquer this contention.

My youthful dreams, all but discarded…for approval of my peers;

While the seeds of acquiescence bears…the fruit of bitter tears.

But at this moment…eyes wide open…to the value I possess;

An epiphany and realization…birthed by great duress.

Refined by flames of consequence…my purpose now secure;

I’ll forge ahead with strength anew…and through the flames endure.

Choice has brought me to this point…and choice will lead me on;

I’m sure the darkest hour has passed…and now…remains… the Dawn.

dawn-dusk

Courtesy of Google Images

 

Leave a Reply

