My Incurable Condition

Posted: 11/11/2016 in Life lessons
Tags: , , ,

As of August, 2016, there is an estimated 7.4 billion people on planet earth. That’s a lot of people.  An interesting thing to note is that I was born with a rare condition shared by a very small percentage of the world’s population. In fact, the last time I checked, approximately 325 million people in the world have it.

By comparison that’s really not a lot of people. I guess you could say, “We are a minority.” Don’t worry, though. It’s not really an epidemic as it is a contained condition.  It has, however, been known to crop up in all parts of the world.

It’s in my blood and, in my case, it’s incurable. I’m not looking for a cure, though. I have never really considered it a sickness or a handicap. Some people have looked down on me and even hated me for it. Others have regarded me, respected me, and favored me for it.  Either way, I suspect I will live out the rest of my life a carrier of this rare condition. That’s right, I’m a carrier. You see, because it’s in my blood, I have passed it on to my children and they have passed it on to theirs. They all have it, too!

Why us? I’ve asked myself that same question many times. Truth is, I don’t know. We’re just lucky, I guess. Fate? Providence? The hand we’ve been dealt? God’s will? I mean, I didn’t ask for this. It wasn’t something I could control. It’s a birth thing. There could be a hundred reasons but that’s not the point. The point is I have it and I have learned to live with it. I’ve learned to embrace, respect, and even to be proud of my condition. My mom and dad had it, too. To my recollection, it all started with them; their parents didn’t have it.

I know a handful of the people who share my condition. All of them were born with it, too. All of them have grown to embrace it and live with it as I have. In fact, we have come to the place in our lives where it would be impossible for us to live without it. We have developed quite a camaraderie. I have heard of others, though, who are seemingly doing everything they can to shed the weight of what they consider to be a dreadful thing and heavy burden. At least they say they do. They were born with it, too, and, unfortunately, they have come to a tipping point where they believe they can no longer live with it. The ironic thing is that I know of still other people who were born completely free of this condition and are frantically, diligently trying to contract it. Weird, huh? On one hand, you have some who will do seemingly anything to rid themselves of its supposed curse, while, on the other hand, you have those who will do anything to gain its potential blessings. See the thing is, I don’t have too much of an issue with those who want it but don’t have it. There is actually a process they can go through to get it. It’s not easy, though. You have to really want it to get it the right way. Any other way is just not the same…but I digress.

I guess I have come to love my condition so much that I would do anything and everything within my power to keep it. Even under severe duress, I would never forsake it, deny it, or hide it. For me, it has become a badge of honor and it’s as much a part of me as anything else I was born with. I can understand why people who don’t have it would want it. What I don’t understand, though, is people who were born with it saying and behaving in ways to demonstrate their apparent repudiation, disgust, and disapproval of it. Especially when there are places you can go where this condition doesn’t even exist. I didn’t say the condition was incurable. I said for me it is. I just think that if the condition is so bad for someone who has it and they know they can go somewhere the condition doesn’t exist and be healed from it, why don’t they just do that instead of complaining about it all the time. I mean, when did complaining ever change anything, anyway? If you are one who has the condition and you feel overwhelmed and stigmatized by its perceived atrocities, go to a place where you can be set free from its cumbersome chains. Be free from its affliction. Why live in such shame?

As for me, it is no burden.

What is this rare condition I have received by birth and have kept by choice? The condition that makes me a minority in this world? The condition that only precious few have and others want? I’m proud to say my condition is that I am a citizen of the United States of America. I didn’t choose to be born here but I choose to stay here and, although this great country is far from perfect, it is still the best thing going on planet earth. If you disagree, well, that’s your right. If you are unhappy with your condition…burdened by your grievances and associated stigma, you also have the right to go to a place where the condition doesn’t exist. And…I support you. If you disagree with me and the millions of other Americans who feel as I do but you choose to stay, hunker down and put on your “Big Boy Pants.”  Do we need change? Yes! Do we need reform? Yes! Do I agree with everything going on in this great nation? No! But, you can be part of the solution or you can be part of the problem. And, complaining, my fellow Americans, is little more than bringing problems to the table without offering viable solutions. You can contribute to wholeness or you can contribute to division. The choice is yours.

Like it or not, we’re in this together. Where is the American innovation, creativity, resolve, and fortitude that has made us great? Have we become a nation of whining children? Children are quick to demand their rights and throw fits of protest when they don’t get their way. They tantrum and pout. And the protest proves all the more that the child is a brat. Children want things handed to them with little or no effort. Children want grown ups to fix things for them. Children want privileges without responsibilities. Children are prone to hurling insults and lashing out when they get their feelings hurt or feel threatened. Children are selfish. Need I go on?  But what good does this behavior do toward changing their situation? What good thing is really accomplished?  Any parent worth their salt would be quick to discipline a child of theirs who behaved in these ways publicly…or on social media as the case may be. Why? Because it’s not acceptable behavior and until a child learns patience  and acceptance (not tolerance) it will be difficult for him/her to learn anything else.  And, yet, here we are, impatient, unaccepting, and undisciplined. Perhaps it’s time for us all to grow up. Inasmuch as there are proper ways to obtain our condition and we should rightly demand that those ways be observed, there are also proper ways to execute change in our country. We should equally desire and demand those ways be observed. Especially if you are a natural born carrier. When you fight hatred with hatred, hatred wins. The insults and demanding are not working. It’s time to roll up our sleeves and get to work.

That’s what big people in our condition do.

Food for thought…

~ Peace and blessings,

joe

Comments
  1. Isaac says:

    Very nice! You can’t change what God created us to be , although some try to change the outside physical appearance i.e. Sexuality and cosmetics, but we can choose to make a difference. Embrace your condition.

    Like

Leave a Reply

