It’s all about perspective…

Posted: 01/19/2016 in Life lessons
Tags: , , , , , ,

It was cold outside so I cozied up in my warm comfortable home, on my favorite recliner, in front of my 60 inch television.  Although I was safe and secure from the inclimate weather outside, I soon grew bored of surfing through the hundreds of channels made possible by by my sattellite tv provider.  Why are there so many ESPN’s, anyway?  I then stopped the surfing at one of my favorite music stations and listened to my tv play music.  All of this, while I surfed the internet for relevant life changing information.  Since I had already settled into a comfy position, cozily nestled under my warm blanket…on my favorite recliner…in front of my 60 inch TV playing music, I decided not to trouble myself by moving to one of the two desktop computers we own.  I chose, rather, to use the laptop to surf the web.  But, as many of you know, boredom can be relentless, especially when you’re doing nothing, so I decided to set the laptop aside…(while still on, mind you…God forbid I should miss some important announcement about some celebrity who doesn’t know I’m watching)…turned off the music on my tv, switched on the PS4, and single handedly saved the world from the zombie apocalypse.  Ironically, zombies are gutsy…but not so brainy, so I was able to save the world in a matter of a couple of hours.

Despite my action packed, two hour zombie apocalypse, the boredom persisted and was now producing a pounding headache.  I thought to myself, “I need fresh air. I think I’ll brave the cold and take a drive.” I then proceeded to bundle up with one of my favorite jackets…the light one.  The other four are too bulky and heavy.  I just needed to be warm for my short walk to one of our three vehicles parked right outside.  I chose the Malibu.  It was the newest vehicle of the three and I could start it remotely so it was nice and toasty when I got inside.  What a nice feature on a miserably cold day.  Plus, with its bluetooth capability, I could stream Pandora from my smartphone.  I just love technology!  I didn’t really have a plan.  I decided to let providence be my navigator and drove wherever the road lead me.  Providence, it seemed, decided I needed to take a drive through the richer neighborhoods of our community.  I marvelled at the expensive looking houses with the expensive looking cars parked in front of them.  Magnificent!  One house even had a combination, full-sized, tennis/basketball court…complete with glass backboards.  I love basketball!  “One of these days,” I dreamed, “One of these days…”

Well, needless to say, all that driving…and dreaming…made me hungry.  Unfortunately, I was too far out to go home and eat.  The rich houses were way on the other side of town, after all.  Surely I’d starve to death before I got home so, once again, providence guided my journey to one of my favorite local restaurants.  I mean, my wife and I have eaten at almost every one of them…fairly frequently, but this one was my favorite.  Well, knowing that I could remotely start the car from inside the restaurant, I figured I might as well brave the miserable cold and enjoy the ambiance of my favorite eatery.  That sounded much better than the drive-thru and eating inside the car.  A zombie could have figured that one out.  It was a no-brainer!  Thanks to the technology that I love so dearly, I was even able to keep up with any breaking, relevant, life changing news while surfing the web on my smart phone and enjoying a satisfying meal.  It was a pleasant little break.  Much to my dismay, upon receiving the ticket, I discovered that I had left my debit card on my dresser at home.  I didn’t want to break the hundred dollar bill for an $8.00 ticket so I decided to go ahead and use my credit card to pay for my food and tip.  Luckily, that card was in my wallet and I could save the cash for something more important!  Don’t you hate when that happens?

As you know, common to men my age, the eye lids are somehow mysteriously connected to the stomach and food makes us sleepy.  So, I holstered my smart phone and started the car from my table inside the restaurant. I then proceeded to pay my ticket and smiled pleasantly as the server swiped my credit card.  My hearty yawn turned into a lengthy sigh as I approached my warming car in an increasingly sleepy haze.  What an exciting day this turned out to be!  As fate would have it, providence struck again, and I was forced to retrace my steps through the rich neighborhood on my trek back home.  Once again, I marvelled at the magnificence of those big expensive homes with their beautiful expensive cars.  And the basketball court!  How I love basketball! Once again I dreamed, “One of these days, man…one of these days…”

I pulled up to my comfortable warm house thinking about the neighborhood I had surveyed twice that day.  I parked the Malibu next to the other two vehicles, pensive about the day’s events.  My beautiful wife greeted me inside with a tender kiss and the aromatic savor of dinner.  In the busyness of my day’s events and dreaming, I failed to use the technology that I love so dearly to inform her I had already eaten. But, it smelled so good, and even though I was full, I decided it would be wrong to take her loving gesture for granted…and ate…again.  As we enjoyed dinner and a quiet moment, she filled me in on her day and the visits and conversations she had with our children and grandchildren.  She even showed me a couple videos of their zany antics.  I love these moments!  We often fill our time with such conversations.

All in all, that day had been a good one.  As I sipped an evening cup of freshly brewed coffee…I really love my Keurig…I reflected about how blessed my life truly is.  Since I left the laptop on and the battery was now dead, and since I was already cozied up in my favorite recliner…nestled under my warm blanket…in front of my 60 inch TV playing music, I turned on my tablet, opened up my notebook app…

…and began listing all the things I still don’t have…

Food For Thought…

~ joe

Comments
  1. Bibiana Pantoja says:

    This is one of my favorites Joe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

