Unfair

Posted: 05/05/2015 in My Psalms
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes life is hard; unfair, even.  Everyone faces the realities that life can bring and, unfortunately, many are not pleasant.  At a time in my life when I felt like the world was against me and nobody understood; a time when I thought life is truly unfair, the Holy Spirit gently reminded me that no one can know this feeling more than Jesus.  If anyone was ever treated unfairly by life, it was the One by whom life is given.  In that time, the Spirit inspired these lyrics.  I offer them today in the form of a poem; a psalm, if you will.  I pray that they offer comfort and understanding in your difficult time.

… Peace and Blessings…

~ joe


How many times have I heard it said, “Life is not fair?”

How many times have I said it myself…hopelessly self aware?

It seems this world I live in is all about me…something needs to change.

But my “me” attitude is bigger than me…I need help to rearrange.

So You who knew no sin became sin for me.

You carried Your cross then You died…and delivered me from me…

Jesus You died for the best of my life so nothing less will do.

You became sin for my righteousness…I guess my life is unfair to you, too.

How many times have I heard it said, “I am my own man?”

How many times have I said it myself doing only what I can?

But Your mercy frees me from what I deserve…Your grace gives me what I don’t.

Though it doesn’t seem fair…You died anyway…now sinners are atoned.

Because You who knew no sin became sin for me.

You carried Your cross then You died…and delivered me from me…

Jesus You died for the best of my life so nothing less will do.

You became sin for my righteousness…I guess my life is unfair to you, too.

Jesus, Your love led You to sacrifice…You did all that You could do.

You became sin for my righteousness because it was not unfair to You.

How many times have I heard it said, “Life is not fair?”

Leave a Reply

