Be Glorified in me…

Posted: 12/09/2014 in Life lessons

(You'll Be My) Knight In Shining Armor1

“…be glorified in me…”

A few years ago my son and I were at the podiatrist’s office when something happened and it helped me understand this concept.

We were sitting in the lobby waiting for my son’s appointment to be called. Ingrown toenails are unpleasant.  I was engrossed in an ESPN Magazine article about the previous year’s NBA draft and my son was nervously waiting for his number to be called. All of a sudden, a banging sound at the glass door to the office startled me away from my out-dated article. I looked up to notice an elderly lady struggling to get through the door with a walker. Then I observed a miracle! With no hesitation; with no goading or prompting; with no begging or pleading; with no diagrams, charts or schematics, my son shot out of his comfortable chair and nervous condition to hold the door open for the lady. Without so much as a thank you, the lady struggled through the door and my son sat back down in the seat of anxiety.

A few moments later, the same lady could be plainly seen approaching the door to return to the lobby. Once again, undeterred…with no hesitation whatsoever, the knight in shining armor sprung into action. Once again, the lady awkwardly struggled through the door.  Once again, not even a whisper or modicum of gratitude. Apparently, she was unaware of how miraculous it can be for a teenager to perform a “random act of kindness,” …or even notice one, for that matter.

Two times this occurred and two times it went unappreciated—-at least by the lady. It was not, however, unnoticed altogether. You see, seated at the far end of the lobby was another dad with his daughter, nervously waiting for her number to be called. They noticed…both times. And, both times they smiled and gave a look of appreciation as they quietly watched the handsome young prince work his charm. Alas, chivalry is not lost!  As he settled back into his chair their eyes seemed to settle on him.

The dad and his daughter were not the only one’s to notice the brilliance and moral genius of my son that day. Someone else noticed his heroic and kindhearted actions; someone to whom his actions meant more than possibly anyone he knows; someone to whom his actions bore witness.  That someone was me. I noticed both times, as well. I noticed them noticing him.  And, both times, I smiled. Not one of those, “way to go son,” smiles. It was a genuine, “fill my whole body with warmth and move my heart” smiles; a smile with such intimate intensity that, when my lips were settled back in place, my heart was still moving and my insides still warm.

On that ordinary day like any other day, something out of the ordinary occurred; something even more miraculous than a teenage random act of kindness. On that day a son glorified his father. On that day, a son’s response demonstrated and witnessed to the love, instruction, and discipline of his dad. And people noticed. And his father was pleased.

It’s my job as a dad to train up my son in the way he should go. It’s my job to provide for him, teach him, and discipline him with values and principles that represent what I believe to be true and right and that will propel him into his God ordained destiny. And when he instinctively acts or reacts according to that training, it testifies of me…and it pleases me. And when people notice, it brings me glory.

It seems like slow motion now but, in reality, the whole scene was over in a matter of moments. That’s all it took; just one moment for a son to respond to his training; just one moment for a son to bring glory to a father; just one moment for nervous onlookers to be distracted from the mundane and monotonous long enough to witness hope. And, even my son was briefly distracted from his own fear of the dreaded foot and ankle doctor.


Matthew 5:13-16 (NKJV)

13 “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men. 14 You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

GLORY/GLORIFY: (GK. doxa) “This word primarily signifies an opinion, estimate, and hence, the honor resulting from good opinion.”

… So, consider this…

The world’s opinion of God rests squarely on the shoulders of those who profess belief
in Him.

What are you doing to bring glory to YOUR Father?

It only takes a moment.

Food For Thought….

~joe

Leave a Reply

